Scholarship Program

Up to Three $1,000

Scholarships Available

Each year at the Spring Conference, MN NAHRO awards scholarships for post-secondary educational programs.

The scholarships are for residents of publicly-owned housing units or participants in a rent assistance program & may be used for any accredited post-secondary education program, except for graduate or post graduate programs.

At least two $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to student applicants who are sponsored by active MN NAHRO Agency Members and selected as winners. Each agency member may sponsor only one applicant. 


Be a resident of a publicly-owned housing unit or a participant in a rent assistance program administered by a Minnesota NAHRO agency member.

Be enrolled in a post-secondary program or be accepted into a post-secondary program beginning Fall 2020.

Education programs must be accredited and may not be graduate or post-graduate programs.

Have a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or better on a scale of 4.0. (Applies to current students only.)

OPTIONAL: For Applicant’s with a household annual income at or below 50% of the area median income for family size as determined by HUD, they will also qualify for NCRC Scholarship program.


Application due to sponsoring agency member March 13, 2020
Applications due to Minnesota NAHRO March 20, 2020

Scholarships are funded by the proceeds of the many fun activities at the conferences, including golfing, fishing, bingo, and other emerging leaders events

2019 Scholarship Award Recipients

Emily McKenzie from Duluth HRA (Also won at the regional and national levels)

Omar Ahmed Abduhalli from Scott County CDA

Keyri Gutierrez from Worthington HRA

2018 Scholarship Award Recipients

Sophia Abdullah from Clay County HRA (Also won at the regional and national levels)

Natasha Gordon from Duluth HRA

2017 Scholarship Award Recipients

Michelle Russell from St. Louis Park HRA

Deonna Tate from Scott County CDA

Laura Garaghty from SEMMCHRA

2016 Scholarship Award Recipients

Zoe Peterson from St. Louis Park HRA

Caitlin Strenge from Luverne HRA

Priscilla Johnson from SEMMCHRA

2015 Scholarship Award Recipients

Dillion Weimann from Dakota County CDA

Veronika Vodolazska-West from Duluth HRA

2014 Scholarship Award Recipients

Jenna Clobes from St. Louis Park HRA

Jasmyne Hamilton from St. Paul PHA

Ramsey Tanner from Luverne HRA

2013 Scholarship Award Recipients

Choua Xiong from Duluth HRA

Feyeso Ombe from St. Paul PHA

Bret Salter from Clay County HRA

Brittany Edman from Luverne HRA